top of page

Rich Dad and His Son


image by www.pixabay.com

One day, a rich dad and his son go to the mall. They pass by a toy shop. His son walks in to the toy shop to look around. Not for long, he walks out from the toy shop and asks to his dad "Dad, I want one." But the dad says "No, son." The son tries again to convince his dad, but his dad still refuses to buy his son the toy.


The next week, they go to the other mall and they pass by a toy shop. So the son walks in to see all the toys. After that, he walks out from the toy shop and asks to his dad again "Dad, I want one." But again his dad says "No, son. It's not the time." The son cries, sad, disappointed, all feelings are mixed, but the dad is just silent. So they continue the walk. Some time later, the son finally quiets. His dad says to him "I don't want to buy the toy for you. I want to teach you, that not everything we want must be obtained. Especially at the same moment. Second, you don't need that. At home, you still have a lot new toys and they are still in a good condition. You can still play with them." The son doesn't really pay attention to his dad. He's still upset and of course, he's still a child. Then his dad continues "When you grow up, you'll understand what I'm saying."


Many years go by, the son has become an adult. One day, they walk together at the mall and they pass by the toy shop. The dad asks to his son "Don't you want to buy toy?" His son replies "No, I'm an adult now. I don't play toys anymore." His dad laughs listening his son say that.

"You used to ask me to buy these toys." His dad says it to his son. He replies "Yes, I still remember it. You always refused to buy them." The dad asks him "Do you now understand why I always refused to buy them for you?" The son silents for a moment. Then he says "I still remember everything you said to me. You always refused to buy them for me because you didn't want to give something easily. We, as a human, are greedy. We always want this and that. If we want something and it's easy to get it, it will make us weak. We have to work hard to achieve something. Because with work hard and if we finally can achieve our goal, we will much happier and satisfy. Especially when I was a kid, if a kid always get what he wants, he'll be greedy. I didn't understand back then, but now I do."


They sit for a while. His dad hasn't said anything about it. The son continues it "Second, I know, I was still a child and you were much older than me. You have known everything that I need or I want. After all experiences I got in my life, I think we have to prioritize things we need, not what we want. It's true, if we always get everything we want, we won't appreciate it that much. We do have a lot of money, but we have to use it properly. All of it, I thank you because you have taught me this lesson. If maybe I used always be given something I wanted, I may not become a successful person."


His father smiles, hearing what his son just said. Inside his heart, he is proud of him, because his son finally can understand and accept this lesson.




bottom of page