top of page

Autumn First Love


image by www.depositphotos.com

It was evening. The sky was orange and the wind blew smoothly. The orange-colored leaves fell down. It's autumn. I immediately ran out the house. I could feel the wind, it was cool and calm. I went back to the house to take my jacket, scarf and novel book. After that, I walked to the park.


At the park, I found an empty bench and I sat there. While I was reading my novel book, I saw people walking around me. Some with their family and some with their partner. I thought to myself "How sweet they are." Oh boy, I started to think randomly. I came here to enjoy the wind and read my book. So I continued read it.


Some time later, I saw some birds approaching me. They were only 3 meters away from my bench. I reached my pocket, to see if there was any food. I found it! It was nuts I just bought yesterday from the market. So I gave them it. "Eat more, birds. So you'll be bigger and stronger." I said that.


After that, I heard someone spoke next to me "Do you like birds?" I turned to see who's speaking. It was a guy, a tall guy. He was handsome with his black hair. His smile was beautiful. I was stunned for a while and I forgot to answer him.

"I'm.. I'm sorry. What did you ask me?" I was shy to ask him.

"Do you like birds too?" He asked me again.

"Oh, yeah. I quite like them." I answered him.

"They look cute when eating. Especially birds with a lot of feathers."

"Yes, I agree. Their feathers are beautiful. I would like to pet them." I replied him. He chuckled. "May I sit here? Others already full. I don't find anywhere else empty." He asked me. I nodded to him. "Please."


"This is my first autumn." He started the conversation.

"Really? Are you from abroad?" I asked curiously.

"Yes. I'm from Singapore. I come here to visit my big family."

"Wow, that's far away. From Asia to Europe." I replied.

"Ha Ha, yeah. I'm lucky enough to be here in autumn season. All this time, I could only see it from pictures. But now, I can enjoy it."

"If that so, I guess you've never seen winter as well?" I asked him again.

"That's right. How it feels touching a snow, I have no idea." He smiled.

"Ha Ha, then you should stay longer here."

He laughed hearing it. We talked quite long at the moment. When we were talking, I saw he had sharp eyes. He always looked at me. His smile made me want to look at his face. My heart was pounding and I felt butterflies in my stomach. "Calm yourself, calm. You must stay calm in front of him" We talked a lot of things like hobbies, where we stay and situation in here or his country.


"Beep, beep. Beep, beep." He looked his watch. "Oh no, it's already 6."

"Why? You have another appointment?" I asked him.

"Yeah. I have to go home. It's dinner time." He laughed.

"I see. So, you go that way?"

"Yes. And you go this way?" He asked me back.

"That's right." I laughed.

"I almost forgot. I haven't introduced myself. I'm Rico." He greeted me.

"I'm Helena."

"It's nice to meet you, Helena. I need to go. You have my contact, right? You can reach me there. We can continue our conversation. Bye!"

"Sure. Bye! Take care." I saw him walked away. I sat back. My mind and my emotion were mingled. But I was so happy. "Do I fall with him?"


I kept thinking of him back my way home. Even at night when I was going to sleep. I tried to clear my mind. I hugged my pillow and closed my eyes. Today was so happy.

bottom of page