top of page

The Small Yard


There is a small yard next to our dining room. I go out there through the side door and sit on this rocking chair. Under the floor, there is a fish pond. There are a lot of fishes here, it's a gold fish. The fishes have a variety of colors. There are orange, white, orange-white and yellow. There are also small and large size. I see some fishes are swimming and others are just staying. I'm thinking "Does gold fish sleep?" In my whole life, I've never known if this kind of fish gets sleep. Near the fish pond, there is a little waterfall. That water sound when it comes down and get into the pond is relaxing, because it's not too rapid. I feed the fishes and they are scrambling to eat it.

"Oh, they must haven't eaten since morning. That's why they are so hungry." Normally, the fishes are fed in the morning, but not today.


Next to fish pond, there is a small garden. Between those two, there is a fence. The fence shaped boxes and it has height about 3 meters and length about 8 meters. From this small yard, I can see a small garden. The garden has one big tree. If the tree trunk is already big, its shadow can cover this small yard. The fence has some vines. I think it hasn't been cleaned up, because its stems are sticking out.


Sometimes I see butterflies flying and dancing around the fence. Their small body look cute when they're flapping the wings. Beside butterflies, I see a bee flying around, searching some foods from nearby flowers.


The wall in front of me, there is a gecko. It has a dark brown skin. It's just staying there, maybe it's stalking his prey. It doesn't take long when it catches its prey. I don't see what it is, because my distance is about 6 meters from it.


From here, I can see my back house. That house has a bird. I hear those birds are singing, shouted at each other. I can't see what they look like, because some plants block my sight. But their sound look good.


Today's weather isn't really hot. There are some clouds above my house, blocking the sun shine. The wind blows softly, hearing the sound of gurgling water and singing birds, make me wanna stay here forever. Feels like heaven.

bottom of page